Karachi and Lahore to fight for the PSL 5 title


Karachi and Lahore will fight for the PSL 5 title. In the second eliminator of the 5th edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL), Lahore Qalandars defeated Multan Sultans and made it to the final of the league for the first time.

Lahore Qalandars gave a target of 183 runs in the allotted overs but the Multan team couldn’t chase down the target and scored 157 runs and thus lost by 25 runs.

In the match played in Karachi, Multan Sultans won the toss and elected to field against Lahore Qalandars. From Lahore Qalandars, Tamim Iqbal and Fakhar Zaman gave the team a solid start but Tamim was dismissed for a total score of 46.

Fakhar Zaman (46) and Tamim Iqbal (30) were the stand out performers. Thanks to the brilliant batting of David Wiese and Fakhar Zaman, Lahore Qalandars scored 182 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in 20 overs.

Shahid Afridi of Multan Sultans took 2 wickets for 18 runs in four overs while Adam Lath, Sohail Tanveer, Mohammad Ilyas and Junaid Khan took one wicket each.

In pursuit of Lahore Qalandar’s target of 183 runs, Multan Sultans’ innings got off to an aggressive start and they scored 47 runs for the first wicket. Adam Lyth and Shan Masood resisted Qalandars’ bowling but Adam 50 and Shan Masood was dismissed for 27 runs. Ravi Bopara also returned to the pavilion with a run scored while Roussow was also caught by Haris Rauf for 18 runs.

Shahid Afridi, who came after him, was also bowled on the first ball, to which Haris Rauf folded his hands and signaled to apologize. Thanks to the superb bowling of Haris Rauf and David Wiese, Multan Sultans failed to chase the target and the entire team scored 157 runs. Thus Qalandars defeated Sultans by 25 runs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here